Friday, April 6, 2012


In general, weaving involves using a loom to interlace two sets of threads at right angles to each other: the warp which runs longitudinally and the weft (older woof) that crosses it. One warp thread is called an end and one weft thread is called a pick. The warp threads are held taut and in parallel to each other, typically in a loom. There are many types of loom. Weaving can be summarised as a repetition of these three actions, also called the primary motion of the loom.
  • Shedding: where the ends are separated by raising or lowering heald frames (heddles) to form a clear space where the pick can pass
  • Picking:where the weft or pick is propelled across the loom by an air-jet, a rapier or a shuttle
  • Beating-up or battening: where the weft is pushed up against the fell of the cloth by the reed  .  The secondary motion of the loom are the:
  • Let off Motion: where the warp is let off the warp beam at a regulated speed to make the filling even and of the required design
  • Take up Motion: Takes up the woven fabric in a regulated manner so that the density of filling is maintained
The Tertiary motions of the loom are the stop motions: to stop the loom in the event of a Thread break. The two main stop motions are the
  • warp stop motion
  • weft stop motion

No comments:

Post a Comment